Game based learning sites:


Mystery Matters: http://www.mysterymatters.edu.au/
ictmindtools: http://ictmindtools.net/games/index.htm
http://games.noaa.gov/
World education Games: http://www.worldeducationgames.com/

Research Readings and Blogs:

Balancing fun and learning in educational games:http://www.committedsardine.com/blogpost.cfm?blogID=2158
Making Education fun through game-based learning: http://www.edtechmagazine.com/k12/article/2011/12/making-education-fun-through-game-based-learning
How computer games help children learn: http://mindshift.kqed.org/2012/02/how-computer-games-help-children-learn/
GBL What it is, Why it works and where its going: http://www.newmedia.org/game-based-learning--what-it-is-why-it-works-and-where-its-going.html

Readings and Research:

Horizon Report Wiki: http://horizon.wiki.nmc.org/2011+Short+List+Game-Based+Learning
Mobile devices and learning: http://www.educause.edu/EDUCAUSE+Quarterly/EDUCAUSEQuarterlyMagazineVolum/StudentCommunityCollaborationt/236668
Creator of sims talks educational gaming: http://link.brightcove.com/services/player/bcpid1399136188?bctid=29089952001
Gamification of learning: http://edudemic.com/2011/11/gamification/
Considerations for games in the classroom: http://deangroom.com/forthewin/2012/01/10-considerations-for-games-in-the-classroom/
Kodu-Free Software for teachers:http://blogs.msdn.com/b/education/archive/2012/02/06/kodu-free-software-for-teachers-in-february.aspx
Game Design Poster

Computer Games and Learning http://www.futurelab.org.uk/sites/default/files/Computer_games_and_learning.pdf


Students as Game Designers;



Game based blogs:


Dean Groom's blog: http://deangroom.wordpress.com

Adrian Bruce: http://www.adrianbruce.com/computers/video_game_making.htm

Adrian Camm: http://adriancamm.com/

Minecraft wiki: http://www.minecraftwiki.net/wiki/Minecraft_Wiki

Massively Minecraft: http://socialmediaclassroom.com/host/MassivelyMinecraft/page/welcome-massively-minecraft-community-educators


Videos made by kids: http://www.acmi.net.au/video_kids.htm
Video Game design: http://gaming4schools.yolasite.com/
Game Design project: http://dogtrax.edublogs.org/2012/01/19/game-design-project-the-youtube-video-collection/


Game based learning youtube videos






Game Platforms for students

Sploder: http://www.sploder.com/
Kodu: http://fuse.microsoft.com/page/kodu.aspx
Scratch: http://scratch.mit.edu/
Unity: http://unity3d.com/unity/
Atmosphir: http://www.atmosphir.com/

Scratch Resources

Scratch Website: http://scratch.mit.edu/
Scratch Installer: http://info.scratch.mit.edu/Scratch_1.4_Download
Scratch instructional videos: http://info.scratch.mit.edu/Support/Videos
Scratch Educational support wiki: http://wiki.scratch.mit.edu/wiki/Main_Page


Video Games and Education

Via: Online Colleges Guide